let it go.

This morning, I woke up early, bundled up, hopped on my fixie, and biked down to the pier for outdoor community yoga.

I think I’m officially a yuppie.

This summer, a local yoga group is offering free (!!!) yoga classes 6 days a week. I’ve always been interested in yoga, but not enough to cough up the price of taking classes at studios around Philly. Today was the first of hopefully many days started with sun salutations on the banks of the Delaware River.

Yoga has always helped me focus on physical awareness, strength, and flexibility, but I am always shocked at the positive mental effects it has.

Today, we focused on letting things go. If there’s something that you’ve been holding onto that causes you pain or sadness, breathe it out. Let it go. Invite happiness and gratitude into your life.

I’ve been stuck in a rut of negativity and criticism for the past few months. Maybe it was the endless winter, maybe it was work, maybe it was me letting myself lose sight of the things that make my life wonderful. No matter what invited the negativity in, I’m making a choice to let it go and celebrate the countless blessings in my life.

Benjamin Franklin Bridge

Sun salutations at the BFB

Leave a Reply

