welcome back (to me)

A recent survey has shown that 100% of my (2) subscribers wonder why I haven’t posted anything recently.

Life has been a whirlwind the past month: friends visited from Lehigh and Boston, I spent an amazing 4th of July weekend with the boy on a lake in rural Indiana, traveled back to Minneapolis for a week to see the family (and Queen Bey!), and then the boy was here for two weeks. So that pretty much gets us to today from the end of June. Crazy. Maybe I’ll update you on some of my adventures one of these days.

Before we return to the regularly scheduled programming, here’s a short story and a brief running update: My sister Marie has been busting her ass for the past 6 months to not only lose a little weight, but to create a healthy, active lifestyle. She’s cut most fried foods and cheese out of her diet and is going to the gym upwards of 5 times per week. Here she is, touching the tip (just the tip!) of democracy:

just the tip

I challenged her to run one of the various distances with me at the end of September, and with a little encouragement, she decided to run the half marathon! Keep in mind, she’s never run a race in her life. I am so proud of my sister, and she has been a huge inspiration for me over the past few months simply by hearing all the time and sweat she’s been committing to her new lifestyle. She’s been lifting and running and going to cardio classes, and I’m pretty sure she qualifies as the fittest MacBeezie sister at this point!

For my own training, I must admit that I severely overestimated my level of fitness before starting my marathon training. Maybe in high school I could start running 20+ miles a week with zero base, but now my body resists much, much more. I felt like I was falling apart doing the marathon training – my body wasn’t ready for the amount of mileage that was expected in the training plan.

I decided in part to save my body, but more importantly to support my sister, that I would instead focus on running consistently and run the half marathon with Marie. It has been such a relief on my body, and I’m going to use this training as a base to start working towards longer mileage for a marathon in the spring perhaps.

I’ve been running pretty consistently 3-4 times a week, 3-5 mile runs, as well as hopping on my bike or going for a walk on off days. I’m getting faster, feeling fitter, and not hurting. Life is good. Now that we’re just a little under 2 months from the marathon, I’m going to start pushing my mileage a bit more and working in a bit of speed work to make the mileage push easier (I don’t think this is actually how it works, but I generally find that doing a speed workout during the week generally sets me up well for a long slow run on Saturday).

Anyways, that’s life right now.

Remember,

IMG_1495

Leave a Reply

