marathon training, week 2

I’m going to sum up Week 2 of marathon training in one word: ouch. As I sit here on the couch, I’m glad to have the last 7 days behind me, but I am really looking forward to this next week of training. Here’s Week 2 in review:

1. Workouts:

Monday: off.

Tuesday: 3.19 miles; 28:28

Wednesday: 3.05 miles; 26:29

Thursday: [3 miles] – skipped

Friday: off. Happy Hour!

Saturday: 7.01 miles; 1:17:38

Sunday: [bike] 16.75 miles – 1:10:19.

Total mileage: 13.25 miles running, 16.75 miles cycling

2. Thoughts:

This past week was really rough. My body was exhausted from the sudden boost in exercise, and the East Coast humidity decided to show up in full force on Tuesday. Between the two, I was tired all day everyday, but it was too hot in my room to fall asleep at night until I passed out from sheer exhaustion.

I got a nice run in on Tuesday morning, but could not for the life of me pull myself out of bed on Wednesday or Thursday. On Wednesday, I had a nice evening run. My left knee has been bothering me and was just so exhausted on Thursday that I decided to take the day off.

Here’s my advice: don’t take a day off, no matter how tempting it is. I took my Saturday run in the late afternoon. I felt stiff and out of rhythm, and the sun beat down on me in the cloudless, 90 degree day. I approximate that I walked about .75 out of the 7 miles. I was sweating gallons, felt like my legs had nothing left, and by the end was shivering from dehydration. Not the best 77 minutes of my life.

Sunday, I took a nice bike ride along the Schuylkill and really focused on low gear, high cadence. I’m surprised by how rejuvenated I feel tonight from the ride. I feel great about the upcoming week and have renewed dedication to running in the mornings. Holy hell is heat and humidity intense out here. I’m hoping that all this training through the heat of summer will ultimately make me feel even more prepared for the marathon as the weather starts to cool down by the end of September.

Let’s end the recap on a good note: I am so lucky that I get views like this just a couple miles from my apartment. I love the view of the Philadelphia Art Museum as you head back into the city on the west bank of the Schuylkill.

phiadelphia art museum

Running and riding by the Schuylkill makes me reminisce about my rowing days – so long ago, but seeing Boathouse Row makes the memories come rushing back. They were the best of times; they were the worst of times, but that’s a story for another day. So glad to put this week behind me. Let’s see what’s coming up this week (it’s a recovery week – woohoo!) :

3. The week ahead:

Monday: rest.

Tuesday: 3 miles.

Wednesday: 4 miles.

Thursday: 3 miles.

Friday: rest.

Saturday: 5 miles.

Sunday: cross train.

Totally do-able. Can’t wait to get out there. 16 weeks to race day!

Hillary

Leave a Reply

