marathon training, week 1

Whew! Week 1 of Marathon Training: DONE! I just got back from my Sunday ride, and it sure feels great to have successfully made it through week 1 without bending the “rules” of the training plan. Let’s break down the week:

1. Workouts:

Monday: off.

Tuesday: 3.2 miles; 29:51

Wednesday: 3.2 miles; 30:17

Thursday: [treadmill, speed work] 2.95 miles; 30:00

Friday: off. Happy Hour!

Saturday: 6.02 miles; 1:00:18

Sunday: [bike] 15 miles – forgot to time.

Total mileage: 15 miles running, 15 miles cycling

2. Thoughts:

Heading into the true heat and humidity of summer, it’s my goal to do my weekday workouts before heading into the office each day. It was actually pretty amazing: by Thursday (day 3), I felt alert and ready to start my day by 7:30 am.

Tuesday and Wednesday, I completed the workouts in the morning, but Thursday I ran on a treadmill at the gym after work. It’s amazing how much more difficult it is to run after sitting all day. On Thursday, I broke the 30 minutes into 3-minute intervals. Starting at 5.5 mph, I increased by 0.1 every three minutes for the first 15 minutes. For the next 12 minutes, I did 60 second build ups, where I increased by 0.1 every 15 seconds x 4, then dropped down 0.4 mph for the next two minutes. I bumped up the on this 3 minute cycle by 0.1 for each interval, so by the end, my base pace was 6.3mph.

I was really proud of my workout on Saturday (6 miles). I started off nice and slow and focused on maintaining an easy pace. Once I made it past the 25 minutes mark, I felt great and my last two miles were actually my fastest! I only listen to music on my long runs, and it was so nice to have a distraction from my screaming legs.

Sunday, I went on an easy 15 mile ride, where I took a bunch of pictures of the city. I came across this bubbling drain/waterfall in Fairmount Park today:

bike-fairmount-park

So cool! Anyways – week one is officially done. Looking forward to another great week!

3. The week ahead:

Monday: rest.

Tuesday: 3 miles.

Wednesday: 3 miles.

Thursday: 3 miles.

Friday: rest.

Saturday: 7 miles.

Sunday: cross train.

Have a great week, everybody! What do you have coming up?

Leave a Reply

