Stopping Fear in its Tracks

Fear can be paralyzing.

Trust me. Even a cool, calm, and collected exterior can be a front for anxious turmoil within. Fear knows no bounds, and it’s a big fan infiltrating everything we do.

It infiltrated my job search over the past two years, my day-to-day life, my interactions, my efforts with developing this blog. Every time I post a new article, I feel guilty and narcisstic for promoting it. I can’t believe people take the time to actually click through and read my thoughts (by the way, thanks everyone!).

I could give you example after example about how fear has a sneaky way of paralyzing us and preventing us from becoming the best we can be. But that’s not what’s important. What’s important is how you fight back. I do everything I can to stop any message of doubt dead in its tracks. Including turning it around into a motivator. When the anxiety and fear are driving you toward inaction, you need to just go for it. Close your eyes and dive in. Just do it.

When it comes to blogging, the answer here is to simply suck it up and just write. When you feel the energy of an idea pulsating in your fingertips, hit the keyboard and bust out your thoughts. You don’t have to publish it. It doesn’t even have to be a good idea. Hell, write about what you ate for breakfast. Just challenge yourself to translate your thoughts and ideas into words.

 

Like everything, writing requires practice. Great writers aren’t born overnight, and simply giving yourself the opportunity to practice will improve your writing and your ability to express yourself. With that comes self-confidence. By building a personal writing style and an ability to intelligently express your thoughts is not only a huge confidence boost, but it will give you the power to kick the anxiety of publicizing your work to the curb.

One of my favorite videos for those days when you need that extra push to get going. It’s been living at the bottom of my inbox since my coach emailed it to me 4 years ago.

Leave a Reply

